Earth, Spirituality

The Best Ever Encapsulation of Where We Are Right Now

Hands down, this is the most …. real thing I’ve heard in a long time. It’s part of a larger podcast in which he laid out just how far off course we are, in a practical, evidence-based, no-political BS way. This is how he wrapped it up. Dr. Bush is an amazingly accomplished doctor, with 3 different board certifications, who is a genuine scientist, and is also tremendously spiritual. I love this guy! The more I hear him speak, the more I love his message. I just had to share this one, because it is perhaps the single best summation I’ve heard not only of Who We Are In Truth, but where we are headed and what we collectively must do.

Here’s the transcript. I typed this out after pausing and replaying, so if I messed anything up, oops. I guess you’ll be able to guess my career is not ‘stenographer’ then. The bolded lines are mine, because these are the statements that really jumped out at me. I add a couple of asides which are [in block parentheticals and italicized].

______________

(response to the concept of E Musk who is trying to colonize Mars as a solution to ‘saving humanity’)

If we don’t reconnect to nature, we’ll just destroy it again.

______________
In the ICUs, when I was practicing intensive hospital medicine, I got the privilege of being around human beings at the end of life. And I was so compelled by this experience that I ended up getting another sub-specialty in hospice and palliative care, and dealing with end of life things for 4 years with a hospice group.

At the end of life, we’ve termed it death. And what I’ve laid out for you today is the possibility of the death of our species in 70 years, 100 years, who cares. Even if it’s 200 years, it’s still pathetic. And so we’re looking at the last chapter of life on earth with our current course of action.

But let me tell about what my experience has been in those moments with patients who were dying. We have the belief, I think, in our subconscious because of the movies we watch, because of the tv shows we watch, because of our big divorce from the death process … It’s become sterilized. You have probably not seen many people die. You have probably not seen your loved ones die. They’ve probably died in operating rooms, or in ICUs, or they died before you could fly across the country and see them. And so now very few human beings are watching this process of death and it’s allowed death to be defined as an end point, as a contraction, or a disappearance, rather than what I’ve actually seen it to be. And what I’ve seen it to be is a massive expansion … of consciousness, of reality, of awareness, and ultimately of love.

And the most poignant examples of this are people that actually die biologically and we spend 15 or 30 minutes in the ICU resuscitating them with drugs or shocking their chests like you see on TV shows and everything else. We have a dismal track record of pulling those people back – it’s not the like tv. We lose the vast majority. It’s around 6% of cardiac arrests in the hospital will actually be resuscitated. 6% will survive, 94% will die. So you have someone who’s now biologically death and you’re artificially sustaining life. You’ve got them on a respirator, you’re pounding on their chests, and your compressing and pumping drugs in their veins to try to get their heart restarted and you’re doing all of this, and meanwhile, they’ve been in the ICU for a week or a few days, or weeks and months in some cases before they have this moment. By this time, they’ve been isolated away from humans for quite some time. They’re only been touched by latex gloved hands, only people with gowns on will come and see them. They have masks on. They haven’t seen a human face close up in months. You know they are just so isolated and lonely.

And they go into this moment on the other side, and then we start working on them and doing our code. And as the hero depicted on TV, you become that doctor that pulls somebody back from that other side of the veil. It was startling as I moved passed my internship and started becoming senior resident in these environments and really responsible for being around these patients for hours after these experiences. They all told such a similar story on the other side of biologic life, and it had to do with a little bit of a typical story that you might see the movies or something – where they saw a white light, there’s a sense of expansion, and all this. But there’s one sentence that came back again and again.

I had one ICU shift that was very weird. I worked the 36 hour shift and during that night, in the middle of my 36 hour shift, I see 3 people die and I bring them all back with my team. And to the last one of those 3, every single one of them, their first sentence was always “Why did you bring me back?”

Which always kind of deflated my wind. They all said “Why did you bring me back?” And the variety of these was huge. One of these was an African-American pastor who had over 200 visitors in his ICU room in the days before he passed away. Another one was this very isolated, kind of ostracized gentleman in his community who was dying of complications from AIDS. And then I had this kid with all these genetic defects who was dying because of complications of pneumonia because he couldn’t breath anymore because his skeleton had collapsed. I mean you couldn’t have picked three medical cases or three different human beings, and every one of them … their first sentence was “Why did you bring me back?”

And then as they start to get oriented, in the hours that followed, they are telling their loved ones ‘I went into this space and it was bright white light everywhere and in that moment, I felt completely accepted for the first time in my life.’ And that was an unexpected sentence to hear out of multiple accounts. ‘I felt completely accepted for the first time in my life.’

(Host) So what do you make of that?

I think we’re all walking around lonely as hell. And our opportunity to rebirth… Because death is not an endpoint, it’s a transformation moment, it’s an expansion beyond the limits of this frail, biologic shell that we carry around. And the instant that we step out of that, we find out that the universe embraces us and every single second of our existence in complete acceptance of who we are. We are enough in and of our own identity of I Am at every second of every point of our existence. It’s the disbelief of that’s keeping us locked in these stupid conversations we just had for the last hour an a half. [Paul Selig’s Guides say the only thing wrong with humanity is our denial of the Divine. If we recognize that, we will recognize the truth of all things]

That is a myopic conversation in and of itself, when you back up for a moment and say “Ok. We’re killing ourselves.” But what if we need a death moment to transform completely? To let go of all of the preconceived notions of what it is to be human, and say “you know what, we are beings of light, and we are completely accepted at every moment, including this moment when we would rape the earth, when we would kill each other at the rate we do, when we would destroy the entire ecosystem of a green planet in the middle of a black space. When we would have that level of hubris, we are still completely accepted. And our journey is somehow understood by something more benevolent and complete than we can see as human beings. And so let’s not beat each other up over this issue. Let’s not see this as a failure. Let’s see this an obvious next step in our journey and death is the inevitable thing marching at us that’s gonna say ‘Are you gonna wake up and see the transformation at that moment of death and transformation and you’re gonna say goodbye Homo Sapiens? Or are you gonna do it a moment before that?'” In the body. Before the doctor starts the resuscitation.

Are you gonna say: You know what. What if we all looked at each other in wonder and awe, and said ‘You’re enough. I accept you completely. I want to be with you. I want to live with you. I want to be alive. Period. And if it’s with you then it must be on purpose because we’re in the same room, and the odds of that is zero.’ And so we are here. Seven billion of us showed up right now, which is really odd, because I just laid out a horrific story of what’s happening on the planet. And yet seven billion of those white souls that seconds after death are going to realize that they are who they’ve always been, they are fully accepted, and they are moving in true love. And that white light is the love, and they’re in that space. What if we can transform before we die? Then there’s no reason to go to Mars. There’s no reason to go anywhere else, because we will do absolutely every single thing differently here on Earth. And we’re going to do it differently by just that simple recognition that I am who I am. You are who you are. That’s enough, and I accept you completely. Let’s figure out how to do this within the design of nature.

There’s enough energy. There’s enough food. There’s enough soil. There’s enough commodities. There’s enough resources for everybody on the planet to thrive at a level that’s never been experienced in human history. We cannot continue any form of human economic systems that have ever existed before and expect us to escape the death moment. We literally have to reinvent everything. And so if you are under the age of 18 right now [in 2019], you are the last generation of human that may live to the fullest extent of the human potential. It is you who are being called to transform because you showed up right when you did. If my generation [gen X] is to do anything, it was to say ‘oh my gosh, we’re going in the wrong direction!’ But my generation doesn’t have enough time now to turn the boat around, reinvent everything. And so our mission is not to inspire the farmers that are fighting the good fight. It’s to inspire their children to do the right thing and do it differently. Connect it to new children who are in the cities, who are in the tech world, where ever they are. Connect those kids back, give them a sense of that unity, give them a sense of the oneness. And give us all a sense that this is the inescapable optimism.

Because we ARE going to transform. Period. And it may be right after the point of our death. Or miraculously, it might just happen right before it.

Standard

2 thoughts on “The Best Ever Encapsulation of Where We Are Right Now

  1. Pingback: Greed is a symptom | Path of the Individual

  2. Pingback: We can’t go back | Path of the Individual

Comments are closed.